startpage

“In Sebastian Fritsch’s hands the cello speaks, sings and pulsates, drawing us irresistibly along. The technique is of a perfect suppleness, always serving the musical discourse. Sebastian is one of the great talents of his generation.”
Jean-Guihen Queyras

Concerts

Filharmonie Filderstadt

Stuttgarter Kammerduo

With works by Beethoven, Kummer, Glière, Ravel and Halvorsen

Rosa Neßling, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello

Wiesbaden

Stuttgarter Kammerduo

With works by Kummer, Glière, Ravel and Halvorsen

Rosa Neßling, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello

Pfundstadt

Recital

With works by Beethoven, Schumann, Mendelssohn and Rachmaninow 

Anna Naretto, piano 
Sebastian Fritsch, cello

Schwabenlandhalle Fellbach

TONALi Tour Concert with the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra

With works by Piazzolla and others

Elena Meipariani, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello
Josefa Schmidt, piano

München

Stars & Rising Stars with Elisabeth Leonskaja

With works by Schumann, Schubert and others

Ziyu He, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello
Elisabeth Leonskaja, piano
Martin Nöbauer, piano 

Festspiele Putbus

CELLOnly

With works by Handel, Brahms and de Falla

Lisa Neßling, Sebastian Fritsch, Till Schuler, Benjamin Pas, Tim Binder and Luca Bosch, cello

Höri Musiktage Bodensee

The Wolf Gang Cellists

With works by Mozart, Popper and Piazzolla

Joel Blido, Konstantin Bruns, Sebastian Fritsch und Friedrich Thiele, cello

Liederhalle Stuttgart

Concert with the Orchesterverein Stuttgart

J.Brahms: Doppelkonzert

Rosa Neßling, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello
Alexander G. Adiarte, conducter

Rotenburg (Wümme)

Stuttgarter Kammerduo

With works by Kummer, Glière, Ravel und Halvorsen

Rosa Neßling, violin
Sebastian Fritsch, cello

“In my opinion, Sebastian Fritsch is one of the best cellists of his generation. His playing is characterised by musical intelligence, interpretive verve, compelling creativity and a refreshingly personal reading. It is a rare pleasure to experience Sebastian Fritsch in concert!”
Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt

News

George Enescu Inernational Competition 2020/2021

Sebastian Fritsch was 2nd pricewinner at the George Enescu International Competition 2020/2021. In the final, wich took place in Bukarest's Roamanian Athaneum, he played Elgar's Cello Concerto togehter with the George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra unter the baton of Nicolas Altstaedt.

Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2019

Sebastian Fritsch was a prizewinner at the renowned competition Deutscher Musikwettbewerb in 2019, receiving not only the main prize but also the audience award. In the finale, he performed together with the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra under Olivier Tardy.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Conservatory Competition in 2019

Sebastian Fritsch was 1st prizewinner at the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Conservatory Competition in 2019. For the finale, which took place in the main hall of the Konzerthaus Berlin, he played Schumann’s Cello Concerto together with the Konzerthaus Orchestra under the baton of Corinna Niemeyer.

TONALi Music Competition 2018

Sebastian Fritsch won the renowned TONALi18 cello competition in 2018. In the finale, which took place in Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie concert hall, he played Schumann’s Cello Concerto together with the internationally renowned Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen under the baton of Joshua Weilerstein. In addition to the first prize, he was awarded the audience prize, the Mariinsky Special Prize and the Saltarello Prize, and was accepted for artist representation by the TONALiSTEN Agency.

Power, love, drama, art


“One expects a young talent and experiences a fully rounded artist. A cellist with an extraordinarily fine and captivating sound ... This musician not only draws the enthusiastic audience along but also the orchestra.”
Stuttgarter Nachrichten

Biography

Sebastian Fritsch,

was born in Stuttgart in 1996. He has been a prizewinner at numerous national and international competitions. In 2019 he won 1st prize and the audience award at the renowned Deutscher Musikwettbewerb, 1st Prize at the Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Conservatory Competition and, in 2018, 1st Prize at the TONALi Cello Competition along with the audience award, the Mariinsky Special Prize and the Saltarello Prize.

He began his musical studies under Jean-Guihen Queyras at the Freiburg University of Music in 2014 before joining the cello class of Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt at Weimar’s Franz Liszt University of Music in 2018. Since the autumn of 2020, Sebastian Fritsch has been continuing his education at the Kronberg Academy under Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt. In addition, he has attended masterclasses by Wen-Sinn Yang, Jens Peter Maintz, David Geringas, Ivan Monighetti and Frans Helmerson, among others. He also continues to work with his long-standing teacher Lisa Neßling and holds a scholarship at the International Music Academy of Liechtenstein.

As a solo performer, Sebastian Fritsch has already appeared with leading orchestras such as St. Petersburg’s Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin and the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra in prestigious venues such as Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie, the Liederhalle Stuttgart and the Konzerthaus Berlin.

He has been invited to play at top festivals such as the Cello Biennale Amsterdam, the Salzburg Festival and the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival.

Sebastian Fritsch plays a cello made by Thorsten Theis from 2016, which is made available to him by the Karl Schlecht Foundation.

Extraordinary musical fireworks

“With a confident smile and incredible vitality and virtuosity ... he brilliantly illuminated the beauty of this music down to the tiniest detail.”
Leipziger Volkszeitung

Media

Calmly audacious

“Sebastian Fritsch is an ardent soloist who offers stunning performances with great style and charisma. He interprets highly virtuoso sections with pathos as well as agility, while the graceful passages are immensely beguiling and velvety.”
Reutlinger General-Anzeiger

Gallery

Contact

Startseite

„In den Händen von Sebastian Fritsch spricht, singt, schwingt das Cello, nimmt uns unwiderstehlich mit. Die Technik ist von einer vollkommenen Geschmeidigkeit, stets dem musikalischen Diskurs dienend. Sebastian gehört zu den Großen seiner Generation.“

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Konzerte

St. Simon und Juda Kirche, Prag

Konzert mit der Philharmonie Hradec Králové

J. Brahms: Doppelkonzert

Rosa Neßling, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello

Kursaal Bad Cannstatt

Kammermusikkonzert

Mit Werken von Beethoven

Seiji Okamoto, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello
Jean-Selim Abdelmoula, Klavier

Augustinum Bonn

Stuttgarter Kammerduo

Mit Werken von Kummer, Glière, Ravel und Halvorsen

Rosa Neßling, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello

Schloss Donzdorf

Stuttgarter Kammerduo

Mit Werken von Kummer, Glière, Ravel und Halvorsen

Rosa Neßling, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello

Schwabenlandhalle Fellbach

Konzert mit dem Stuttgarter Kammerorchester

Mit Werken von Vivaldi u.a.

Elena Meipariani, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello
Josefa Schmidt, Klavier

Eduard-von-Winterstein-Theater Annaberg

Konzert mit der Erzgebirgischen Philharmonie Aue

J. Brahms: Doppelkonzert

Rosa Neßling, Violine
Sebastian Fritsch, Cello

Schloss Berleburg

CELLOnly Konzert

Mit Werken von Mozart, Brahms, Villa Lobos, Piazolla und Coldplay

Lisa Neßling, Sebastian Fritsch, Till Schuler, Benjamin Pas, Tim Binder und Luca Bosch, Cello

 

Großes Haus Halberstadt

Konzert mit den Harzer Sinfonikern

E. Elgar: Cellokonzert

Sebastian Fritsch, Cello
Grigor Palikarov, Dirigent

Großes Haus Quedlinburg

Konzert mit den Harzer Sinfonikern

E. Elgar: Cellokonzert

Sebastian Fritsch, Cello
Grigor Palikarov, Dirigent

Festspiele Putbus

CELLOnly Konzert

Mit Werken u.a. von Händel, Brahms und de Falla

Lisa Neßling, Sebastian Fritsch, Till Schuler, Benjamin Pas, Tim Binder und Luca Bosch, Cello

„Meines Erachtens zählt Sebastian Fritsch zu den besten Cellisten seiner Generation! Sein Spiel zeichnet sich aus durch musikalische Intelligenz, interpretatorische Frische, eine bezwingende Kreativität und eine erfrischend persönliche Lesart! Es ist ein wahres Vergnügen, Sebastian Fritsch im Konzert zu erleben!“

Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt

Aktuell

Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2019

Sebastian Fritsch ist Gewinner des renommierten Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs 2019 (DMW), bei dem er neben dem Hauptpreis auch den Publikumspreis erhielt. Er spielte im Finale zusammen mit den Nürnberger Symphonikern unter der Leitung von Olivier Tardy.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerb 2019

Sebastian Fritsch ist 1. Preisträger des Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerbs 2019. Das Finale fand im großen Saal des Konzerthaus Berlin statt und er spielte zusammen mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin unter der Leitung von Corinna Niemeyer das Cellokonzert von R. Schumann.

TONALi Musikwettbewerb 2018

Sebastian Fritsch ist Gewinner des renommierten TONALi18 Cellowettbewerbs. Im Finale, das im großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie stattfand, spielte er das Cellokonzert von R. Schumann gemeinsam mit der international führenden Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen unter der Leitung von Joshua Weilerstein. Zusätzlich zum ersten Preis wurde ihm der Publikumspreis, die Aufnahme in die TONALiSTEN-Agentur, der Mariinsky-Sonderpreis sowie der Saltarello-Preis zuerkannt.

Kraft, Liebe, Drama, Kunst

„Man erwartet ein junges Talent und erlebt: eine Persönlichkeit. Einen Cellisten mit außerordentlich feinem, packendem Ton … Der Cellist entwickelt eine Sogwirkung, die nicht nur das begeisterte Publikum, sondern auch das Orchester mitzieht.“

Stuttgarter Nachrichten

Vita

Sebastian Fritsch,

geboren 1996 in Stuttgart, ist Preisträger zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe. So gewann er 2019 den renommierten Deutschen Musikwettbewerb sowie den Publikumspreis, den 1. Preis des Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy-Hochschulwettbewerbs und 2018 den 1. Preis des TONALi Cellowettbewerbs. Hier wurde er ebenfalls mit dem Publikumspreis, dem Mariinsky-Sonderpreis und dem Saltarello-Sonderpreis ausgezeichnet.

Er begann 2014 sein Studium bei Jean-Guihen Queyras an der Hochschule für Musik Freiburg und setzte es 2018 in Weimar in der Violoncelloklasse von Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt fort. Seit Herbst 2020 studiert Sebastian Fritsch an der Kronberg Academy bei Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt weiter. Wichtige musikalische Impulse erhielt der Cellist unter anderem von Wen-Sinn Yang, Jens Peter Maintz, David Geringas, Ivan Monighetti und Frans Helmerson. Darüber hinaus arbeitet er mit seiner langjährigen Lehrerin Lisa Neßling und ist Stipendiat der Internationalen Musikakademie Liechtenstein.

Als Solist trat er bereits mit Orchestern wie dem Mariinsky Theaterorchester St. Petersburg, der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin und den Nürnberger Symphonikern unter anderem in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, der Liederhalle Stuttgart und dem Konzerthaus Berlin auf.

Er gastierte bei Festivals wie der Cello Biennale Amsterdam, den Salzburger Festspielen und beim Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival.

Sebastian Fritsch spielt ein Cello von Thorsten Theis aus dem Jahr 2016.

Ein musikalisches Feuerwerk der Extraklasse

„Mit überlegenem Lächeln im Gesicht und unglaublicher Vitalität und Virtuosität … zeichnete er die Schönheit dieser Musik bis ins kleinste Detail perfekt nach.“

Leipziger Volkszeitung

Media

J. Brahms Cello Sonata No.1 Op.38 in E minor,
1. Allegro non troops

Sebastian Fritsch, cello
Naoko Sonoda, piano

Sacht und beherzt

„Sebastian Fritsch ist der feurige Solist, der mit großen Gesten und viel Präsenz spielt und dabei eine ausgezeichnete Leistung bietet. Die hochvirtuosen Passagen gelingen ihm sowohl mit Pathos als auch mit Frische, während die anmutigen Stellen ungemein betörend und samtig sind.“

Reutlinger General-Anzeiger

Galerie

Kontakt